Management & Group Structure

Management & group structure

We regard ourselves as an international corporate group. Integrity, engagement and social awareness are key shared values. Every single employee plays a key role in our company and is fully committed. We promote and demand top skills and performance every day. Our working and management styles are built on cooperation and trust.

Management Board

Management Board

Johann Marihart is CEO of AGRANA Beteiligungs-AG. Together with Stephan Büttner, Fritz Gattermayer, Norbert Harringer and Thomas Kölbl, he forms the company’s Management Board.

DI Johann Marihart

  • Business Strategy
  • Quality Management
  • Human Resources
  • Communications (inkl. Investor Relations)
  • Research & Development

Mag. Stephan Büttner

  • Finance & Controlling
  • Treasury
  • Information Technology & Organisation
  • Mergers & Acquisitions
  • Legal
  • Compliance

Mag. DI Dr. Fritz Gattermayer

  • Sales
  • Raw Materials
  • Purchasing
  • Logistics

DI Dr. Norbert Harringer

  • Production coordination
  • Investments

Dkfm. Thomas Kölbl

  • Internal Auditing 


The Supervisory Board of AGRANA Beteiligungs-AG consists of twelve members: eight elected by shareholders at the Annual General Meeting and four employee representatives delegated by the Works Council.

Supervisory Board

  • Erwin HAMESEDER - Chairman
  • Hans-Jörg GEBHARD - Vice-Chairman
  • Klaus BUCHLEITNER - Vice-Chairman
  • Helmut FRIEDL
  • Andrea GRITSCH
  • Thomas KIRCHBERG
  • Josef PRÖLL


Staff Council delegates

  • Thomas BUDER
  • Andreas KLAMLER
  • Gerhard KOTTBAUER
  • Stephan SAVIC


Excerpt from the bylaws of the Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board may elect to appoint committees formed from its members in order to prepare meetings and resolutions for the full Supervisory Board, to monitor the implementation of certain resolutions previously passed, or to independently attend to matters assigned to such committees by the full Supervisory Board.

In particular, a Supervisory Board committee (the Personnel Committee) is to be appointed, in accordance with § 92, Para. 4 of the Austrian Stock Corporation Act (AktG.), to act as a representative for the Company in legal matters between the Company and active or retired Executive Board members.

Furthermore an executive committee will be appointed, which is authorized by the supervisory board to decide in urgent issues. The urgency is determined by the chairperson.

Supervisory Board committees shall comprise a chairperson or one deputy and a certain number of members, which is to be appointed by the supervisory board, with the exception of the committee as defined under Para. 2, which shall comprise the chairperson and two further members selected from the Supervisory Board members elected at the Annual Shareholders' Meeting. Two deputies for the chairperson may be appointed if such is voted upon


Personnel Committee =
Nomination and Remuneration Committee

Executive Committee =
Strategic Committee

Audit Committee

  • Erwin Hameseder
  • Dr. Hans-Jörg Gebhard
  • Klaus Buchleitner
  • Erwin Hameseder
  • Hans Jörg Gebhard
  • Klaus Buchleitner
  • Thomas Kirchberg
  • Thomas Buder
  • Gerhard Kottbauer
  • Klaus Buchleitner
  • Hans-Jörg Gebhard
  • Thomas Kirchberg
  • Ernst Karpfinger 
  • Thomas Buder
  • Stephan Savic

Independence of Supervisory Board members

At its sitting on 20 February 2006, the Supervisory Board of AGRANA Beteiligungs-AG resolved to adopt the independence criteria contained in Annex 1 of the Austrian Corporate Governance Code.




Group structure

AGRANA Beteiligungs-Aktiengesellschaft was founded in 1988 as the holding company of the Austrian sugar and starch industry. In order to grow further, the core business operations were later expanded through the addition of the Fruit segment, focussing on fruit preparations and fruit juice concentrates.

A good decision: Within just a few years, AGRANA has successfully developed to become a fast-growing and globally-active corporate group and revenues have increased nearly four-fold.

Fruit segment AGRANA Internationale
Verwaltungs- und Asset-
Management GMBH
  • AGRANA Fruit S.A.S.
Starch segment AGRANA Stärke GmbH
  • S.C.A.G.F.D. Tandarei S.R.L.
Sugar segment AGRANA Sales & Marketing GmbH
  • AGRANA Zucker GmbH
  • Moravskoslezské Cukrovary
    (Tschechische Republik)
  • Magyar Cukor ZRT.
  • Slovenské Cukrovary s.r.o.
  • S.C. AGRANA Romania S.R.L.
  • AGRANA BiH Holding
    (Bosnien und Herzegowina)
Research &
AGRANA Research &
Innovation Center GmbH

AGRANA Beteiligungs-AG holds the shares in the following subsidiaries, which in turn manage the various international subsidiaries:

Shareholder Structure

Shareholder Structure

AGRANA Zucker, Stärke und Frucht Holding AG (“AZSFH"), based in Vienna, holds 78.34% of the share capital of AGRANA Beteiligungs-AG. 18.92% of the shares represent free float.

In AZSFH, Zucker-Beteiligungsgesellschaft m.b.H. ("ZBG"), Vienna holds 50% less one share (that share being held by AGRANA Zucker GmbH, a subsidiary of AGRANA Beteiligungs-AG) and Südzucker AG holds the other 50%. The following five Vienna-based entities are shareholders of ZBG: "ALMARA" Holding GmbH (a subsidiary of RAIFFEISEN-HOLDING NIEDERÖSTERREICH-WIEN registrierte Genossenschaft mit beschränkter Haftung); Marchfelder Zuckerfabriken Gesellschaft m.b.H.; Estezet Beteiligungsgesellschaft m.b.H.; Rübenproduzenten Beteiligungs GesmbH; and Leipnik-Lundenburger Invest Beteiligungs AG. Under a syndicate agreement between Südzucker AG and ZBG, the partners in the syndicate have mutual rights to appoint members of the management board and supervisory board of AGRANA Beteiligungs-AG and Südzucker AG .